U.R.G.E. Members

Information to apply to become an URGE member is located on the About Urge page and updated Jan 16 2017.

3/27/2021 March 18th Nominations for Executive board are


Sherry Murphy

1st Vice President

David Hall

2nd Vice President

David Halstead


Leon Noack


Melissa Stemple

4 Trustee

Tom Brown

Joyce Wilson

Mark Bezinque

Jim Grohoski

​Election Day will be May 20th


Positions to be voted on are: President, 1st Vice President, 2nd Vice President, Financial Secretary-Treasurer, Recording Secretary and 4 Trustee positions.
Nomination of officers will be held March 18, 2021 at the regular Membership meeting IF WE ARE ABLE TO HOLD A MEETING.

If unable to have in-person nominations, mail-ins will be accepted.  When submitting your mail-in nomination, please list name and position for nomination, date, and sign the request.   If you are nominating yourself, you must indicate the position you are nominating yourself for.  If you are nominating someone other than yourself you must include a letter of acceptance from that person.  Mail in nominations must be received by 10 a.m. on March 17, 2021.

Absentee ballots will be available April 20, 2021 (30 days prior to the election) and must be returned by May 19, 2021 at 10 a.m. (24 hours prior to the election).  Requests for Absentee Ballots must be in writing.  Deadline for requesting an Absentee Ballot is May 4, 2021 (15 days prior to the election).

Officers will be elected by secret ballot at the Membership meeting on May 20, 2021 from the hours of 9:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.  If we are unable to meet in person the election will be determined by a count of absentee ballots.

12/14/2020 It comes with great sadness to announce that Mary Bland has passed away. We will pass on information as we receive it.There will not be a December members meeting.

1/4/2020 Local News article about our pension click (here)

1/21/2018  Whenever there is a change in your insurance; such as, a death, marriage, etc. you must notify Meadowbrook (877) 826-1605).  This could make a difference in the amount you pay each month.

4/3/2017 This is a correspondence from Allen Park Retiree Association and thier Attorney Mark Porter.
The Governor's Task Force on Responsible Pension Reform has one goal and one goal only.  That is to strip away as much from current and future retirees, statewide, as possible.  Why this is such a hot issue with Doug DeVos of the Amway fame and fortune, who is driving this "reform",  is not known. 
Mark wrote: "The Governor's "Task Force" on "Pension and Retiree Health Care" had its first meeting this past Friday, February 10th.  On a bit of intuition, I ran some searches and found the attached Detroit News article from September, 2016, confirming who is actually pulling the strings in the background. You can view the article at this link: http://www.detroitnews.com/story/news/local/michigan/2016/09/28/michigan-forum-devos-family-target-pension-reform/91241584/  
While it is certainly not accurate to attribute all intent upon a single person -- especially considering the current iron grip on all branches of Mich State Government -- the attached article confirms the suspicions.   
We now have confirmed that the lame duck push on retiree health care was simply 50% of the total agenda from the West Side of the State.  
The Governor's office has scheduled only 6-meetings of the Task Force, with a final date of April 20th, after which "recommended" legislation will be introduced on a time table to be passed and signed by Summer recess.   
It stands to reason that there is no conceivable, objective way to determine all of the Statewide variances in pensions and retiree health care between now and then.   
An objective review, however, was never the goal -- only a couple crammed-down "solutions" for both retiree pensions and health insurance."
​As we previoulsy believed, last December's lame duck session attempt at passing these bills was only a weak attempt.  We need to be very concerned about this.  We need to stop this from happening.  If enacted, these laws will eventually effect all retirees, regardless of where they retired from.  You can count on that.  The State is trying to conquer the public sector retirees and employees first; the private sector will be next and very easy to "steam roll". 
It is up to us to stop this from happening.  Nobody else will.  Nobody is coming to our rescue.  This is our pensions and other post employment benefits (OPEB), namely healthcare, we are talking about.  In other words, our financial futures. 
What can you do?  To start, share this email with any and all retirees and public service sector employees you know.  Call your Michigan State Senators and Representatives, everyday, and let them know that you'll never vote for them, or anybody from their party, again if they support and enact these "pension reform" laws.  If you live in another state, you can still call and voice your concern.  You may even ask family members, who reside in Michigan, take up your cause also.  Not sure who your senator or representive is or how to contact them?  Use these links to find yours http://www.senate.michigan.gov/fysbyaddress.html or http://house.michigan.gov/mhrpublic/
Email them, write them, request a face to face meeting with them at their local office.  They all have at least one monthly coffee hour in their district.  You can find out where and when by using the links above.  (All the information you need to know is on their individual websites). Go there, voice your opinion. Let them know that this is not an issue for the State of Michigan to control. We don't need pension reforms. These are collective bargaining rights and as such, are best left and addressed at the local level.  Be heard.  Make them know who YOU are.  More importantly, make them know that you're not going to stand for this.
Contact the leadership of the Senate and the House.  Let them know you are not going to stand for this. You can find all the information for the leaderships at these two links: http://www.senate.michigan.gov/SenatorInfo/leadership.html or http://house.michigan.gov/leadership.asp          
Each and everyone of us has a huge stake in this.  Retirees and active employees alike.  If we are to stop this travesity, this open assault upon retirees and union workers, then each of us has an individual responsibility to ourselves, and each other, to take an active part to stop this dead in its' tracks.